The County Clerk is the official bookkeeper of county government and serves as the clerk for the county and probate courts. The clerk keeps a regular account between the treasurer and the county. The clerk prepares all checks on the treasury of monies ordered to be paid by the county court.
The County Clerk keeps complete, permanent records of the proceedings of the quorum court. In probate court, the clerk files instruments in decedent estate cases. The clerk maintains adoptions and guardianship records within the county.
The County Clerk serves as the secretary of the Board of Equalization, records the minutes of their meetings and extends the taxes in the information provided by the assessor and the Board of Equalization.
Faulkner County Courthouse
801 Locust Street
Conway, AR 72034
Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
Located in the Criminal Justice Building at 510 South German Lane Conway
Phone 501-450-4940 Fax 501-329-5902
Both parties must be 18 years or order and have certified proof of age (State issued birth certificate, valid driver’s licenses). Males 17 of age and females 16-17 years of age - Must have a birth certificate, and both parents’ consent. If parents are divorced the parent that has full custody must give consent. The divorce must be the latest court document. The cost is $60.00 cash (no checks please) Certified copies of Marriage Licenses are available for $5.00 each. The Faulkner County Marriage Licenses index dates back to 1873.
Covenant Marriage License
In order to have a Covenant Marriage Licenses issued, which is optional, you must go through several months of counseling by a minister, priest, rabbi clerk of the Society of Friends, any clergy member of any religious sect, a licensed professional counselor, licensed associate counselor, licensed marriage and family therapist, licensed clinical psychologist or licensed associate marriage and family therapist.
Click here to download a Covenant Marriage License form: Covenant Marriage License Form
Birth / Death Certificates
Applications for birth and death certificates are available. All birth and death records are recorded in Little Rock with the office of Vital Records. These records date back to 1914.
You can download a birth certificate application form or a death certificate application form by going to: http://www.healthyarkansas.com/certificates/certificates.html
Doing Business Under Assumed Name Certificates
Arkansas law requires that no person shall conduct or transact business in the state under an assumed name or under any designated name or style, corporate or otherwise, other than the real name of the individual conducting of transacting such business, unless the person files a certificate in the office of the County Clerk of the counties in which the person conducts or transacts or intends to conduct the business. DBA certificates are filed and recorded in the office of the County Clerk. A person or persons desiring to file a DBA is required to complete the certificate form and sign it before a notary public.
The filing fee for this DBA certificate is $25.00
The types of businesses that would typically use the form are sole proprietorship's and general partnerships.
The DBA certificate is filed in the County Clerk's office and must be accomplished by:
1. In person; or
2. Mailing with the form and $25.00
Instructions: Print the form from the link below
For any further information regarding doing business in the State of Arkansas you can visit the Secretary of State's website.
Articles of Incorporation: Assumed Names (DBA)
Minister’s Credentials: A minister must have his credentials recorded in the State before performing marriage ceremonies.
Equalization Board petitions.
Quorum and County Court
Voter registration and Absentee, Early voting
Recording and issuing of licenses and other records
Board of Equalization
Marriage Licenses (cash only) $ 60.00
Certificate Copy $ 5.00
Articles of Incorporation $ 25.00
Assumed Business Names $ 25.00
Limited Partnership $ 25.00
Minister & Professional Credentials $ 5.00
Voter List (paper copy) $ .02 per name
Voter Disk $ 25.00 per disk
County Court $ 30.00
Probate Court $165.00
Small Estate $25.00
Collection of Small Estates